108

13 Oct

Can a roofless structure become a place of shelter? she asked me. Should we have a piece of toast? I asked back. We didn’t realize the truth. We didn’t really need a particular example of art at that moment. It wouldn’t really help us at all. There was no shortcut, no standardized process for clothing what we were feeling. She wanted to measure me. What is measurement? I said. She put her lips close to mine and whispered so quietly I could no longer hear her. She had fallen away, and the closer she got the more I could no longer smell the warmth of her breathing. I am only a metaphor, she said at the end. And then I fell.

Leave a Reply

